This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

St. Regis wins trophy in Mexico

From November 2nd to November 9th, our newest Official Cooperation Partner, the Federación Mexicana de Polo, hosted the 23rd Mexican Polo Open in the Campo Marte, the magnificent polo field in the city of México D.F. and the Club de Polo Tecamac, also in Mexico D.F.
A total of seven very intense games between the teams Audi, Fishers, ESPN and St. Regis were played between those two weekends. In this edition, the total team handicap was raised from +12 to +14, setting higher standards of polo in this fast-growing country. With an exhibition match between the best players of every team, this tournament included players not only from México, but also from Italy, Portugal and Brazil.
After six of the seven thrilling polo games, two finalists emerged: teams St. Regis and Audi. St. Regis was comprised of the legendary Carlos Gracida (+6), Mariano Gracida (+3) (Carlos’ son), the President of the Federation, Guillermo Steta Mondragón (+1) and Miguel Gómez de Parada (+3). The opponent, Audi, consisted of one of Mexico’s best players, Valerio Aguilar (+5), Francisco Aguilar (+4), Carlos Hernández (+3) and Isaac Sepúlveda (+1). Most of the time, the match was dominated by St. Regis, and in the end the team led by Carlos Gracida won by 8-3. The legend himself scored the goal that ensured the great victory for St. Regis, being his sixth goal in the match.
Adjacent events also took place at the St. Regis Hotel: a press conference and lunch, led by Lic. Guillermo Steta Mondragón and Rogelio Igartúa, the organizers of the Open, followed by the inauguration conference, and for an unforgettable closing, a dinner party in the place where the action took place, the Campo Marte.
Part of the revenues of the Mexican Open were donated to a foundation, Un Mañana para la Comunidad. Audi was the main sponsor of this incredible open, who happens also to have been the winner of the last polo tournaments. St. Regis Hotel, ESPN, and Fishers joined Audi to complete the sponsorship.

The teams:
St. Regis (+13)
Carlos Gracida (+6)
Mariano Gracida (+3)
Miguel Gómez de Parada (+3)
Guillermo Steta Mondragón (+1)
Audi (+13)
Valerio Aguilar (+5)
Francisco Aguilar (+4)
Carlos Hernández (+3)
Isaac Sepúlveda (+1)
Fishers (+13)
Diego Solorzano (+4)
Oscar Garibay (+4)
Alejandro Gómez de Parada (+4)
Rogelio Sada (+1)
ESPN (+13)
Olavo Novaes (+8)
Diego Velarde (+3)
Rogelio Igartua (+1)
José Antonio Valdez (+1)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to