This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Alegría and Ellerstina succeed

On Sunday 23rd November, the 4th day of the 121° Argentine Polo Open took place at Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Cathedral of Polo was splendid, as every year, and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. POLO+10 was there and reported from Palermo.

Alegría team, with Polito Pieres (+9), Hilario Ulloa (+9), Lucas Monteverde (+9) and Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (+7), and Chapaleufú with Alberto Heguy Jr. (+7), Ignacio Heguy (+8), Bautista Heguy (+8) and Eduardo Heguy (+8) were the first teams to play. You could feel the enthusiasm of both teams, which fought hard to take the lead of the match, always with a slight difference in goals. At the end of the forth chukka, Clemente Zavaleta, Alegría’s coach and team manager, gave a very cheerful speech to motivate the players: “The match starts right now”. And indeed it did. After that, Chapaleufú and Alegría scored goal after goal and the seventh chukka was very exciting: everything started with the impressive goal of Nachi Heguy and with the score in 16-13 for Alegría until Polito Pieres scored a goal in the middle of the chukka. The duo formed by Hilario Ulloa and Polito Pieres was just unbeatable. The chukka finished in 17-14. The eighth chukka began with the shouts of both team’s supporters and, although Chapaleufú scored a new penalty goal, they couldn’t beat Alegría, which finally won 18-15.

At 4.30 pm (local time), the main field of the Cathedral of Polo was crowded; it was time for the team in black shirts – Ellerstina – with Facundo Pieres (+10), Gonzalo Pieres (+10), Nicolás Pieres (+9) and Ignatius Du Plessis (+8) to play against La Aguada Las Monjitas with Lucas James (+8), Cristian Laprida (+8), Eduardo Novillo Astrada (+9) and Alejandro Novillo Astrada (+8). Ellerstina won against La Aguada Las Monjitas by 16-12.

We also present the last issue of our magazine: come and visit us at our booth and get a copy for free!

The following link leads to our gallery on Facebook which can also be looked at without a Facebook account: click here

The teams:
Zone A
La Dolfina (+40)

Adolfo Cambiaso (+10)
David Stirling (+10)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)

La Aguada (+36)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Guillermo Caset (+9)
Miguel Novillo Astrada (+10)
Ignacio Novillo Astrada (+9)

Magual (+33)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)
Ignacio Toccalino (+9)
Marcos Di Paola (+8)
Jaime García Huidobro (+8)

Miramar (+28)
Gonzalo Deltour (+7)
Valerio Zubiaurre (+7)
Ignacio Laprida (+7)
Santiago Toccalino (+7)

Zone B
Ellerstina (+37)

Facundo Pieres (+10)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Ignatius Du Plessis (+8)
Nicolás Pieres (+9)

Alegría (+34)
Pablo Pieres (+9)
Hilario Ulloa (+9)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)
Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (+7)

La Aguada Las Monjitas (+33)
Lucas James (+8)
Cristian Laprida (+8)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (+9)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (+8)

Chapaleufú (+31)
Alberto Heguy (+7)
Ignacio Heguy (+8)
Bautista Heguy (+8)
Eduardo Heguy (+8)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to