This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

La Dolfina wins Argentine Triple Crown

For the second consecutive year, and thanks to great efforts of the all-star team, La Dolfina with Adolfo Cambiaso (+10), Pablo MacDonough (+10), Juan Martín Nero (+10) and David Stirling (+10) won this Saturday at Palermo against Ellerstina by 14-12, taking not only the Argentine Open cup home, but also the Argentine Triple Crown. Previously they had won the Tortugas and Hurlingham Open. This win has put La Dolfina in the polo history once again, as the other team that won two times in a row the Triple Crown was none other than Coronel Suárez.

This was a heated Saturday in Palermo, in every sense of the word: the thermometer marked 32°C, and La Dolfina and Ellerstina, the old rivals, released a true polo battle in the pitch. Ellerstina, in blue shirts, was formed by Facundo Pieres (+10), Gonzalo Pieres (+10), Nicolás Pieres(+9) and once again, the South African Ignatius Du Plessis (+8). Sadly, Mariano Aguerre had still not recovered from his injury, so his replacement, Ignatius, had to step up once again. Surprisingly, this was Ignatius du Plessis’ first Argentine Open final in all senses: both as a spectator and as a player, a moment to remember. However, the most nervous team member was Mariano Aguerre: watching every move from the tent, he had the biggest part in the horse organization for the last match, a hard task that gave great results.

When the first chukka started, David Stirling scored after 15 seconds, and from then on, he would carry out a performance to remember, undoubtedly this was his best played game, and he kept this remarkable polo level all throughout the match. Experts said he was undoubtedly the best player of the match and he was obviously proclaimed MVP.

The game was rowdy and full of fouls, there was rivalry between these two great teams, and it was a very close game, where they kept on exchanging goal after goal, and the audience could feel the players’ stress and desire to win. Finally, La Dolfina won with just a 2 goal difference in the eight chukka, and emotions filled up the Polo Cathedral: the Triple Crown was theirs.

An exciting afternoon, and a great ending to an even greater tournament, polo fans were dazzled all around the world and now wait expectant until the next edition.

The teams:
Zone A
La Dolfina (+40)

Adolfo Cambiaso (+10)
David Stirling (+10)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)

La Aguada (+36)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Guillermo Caset (+9)
Miguel Novillo Astrada (+10)
Ignacio Novillo Astrada (+9)

Magual (+33)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)
Ignacio Toccalino (+9)
Marcos Di Paola (+8)
Jaime García Huidobro (+8)

Miramar (+28)
Gonzalo Deltour (+7)
Valerio Zubiaurre (+7)
Ignacio Laprida (+7)
Santiago Toccalino (+7)

Zone B
Ellerstina (+37)

Facundo Pieres (+10)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Ignatius Du Plessis (+8)
Nicolás Pieres (+9)

Alegría (+34)
Pablo Pieres (+9)
Hilario Ulloa (+9)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)
Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (+7)

La Aguada Las Monjitas (+33)
Lucas James (+8)
Cristian Laprida (+8)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (+9)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (+8)

Chapaleufú (+31)
Alberto Heguy (+7)
Ignacio Heguy (+8)
Bautista Heguy (+8)
Eduardo Heguy (+8)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to