This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Argentine Triple Crown 2014: Latest News

Not so long ago the Triple Crown 2013 ended and Adolfo Cambiaso’s team La Dolfina gained the coveted trophy. And though the Qualifiers for Hurlingham and Argentine Open begin as late as September there already are important changes regarding the teams. The Argentine Triple Crown consists of the three Opens Tortugas Open, Hurlingham Open and Argentine Open and is a series of the most important tournaments worldwide.

The first surprising news: Team Magual won’t be playing this year’s Qualifiers, but will be able to play the entire Triple Crown for the first time ever. The team can look back on a successful 2013 season and Ignacio Toccalino’s handicap was raised to 9 goals. The line up will stay the same for 2014, as before Toccalino will be accompanied by Marcos di Paola (+8), Jaime García Huidobro (+8) and Alejandro Muzzio (+8).

Alejandro Agote (+8) ended his career as coach for Ellerstina and this year saddles up for team La Natividad. His coaching position will be taken by Gonzalo Pieres Sr., father of the Pieres brothers Facundo (+10), Gonzalito (+10) and Nicolás (+9). Accompanied by their brother-in-law Mariano Aguerre (+9) they form the team Ellerstina.

This year La Natividad competes at the Triple Crown with a different line up: Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade (+8), Guillermo Caset (+9) and Ignacio Heguy (+9) have left the team, Caset returns to La Aguada. Bartolomé Castagnola (+9) remains and participates in this year’s Qualifiers together with the new arrivals Alejandro Agote, Guillermo Terrera (+8) and Nachi Du Plessis (+8).

There also will be a “new” team participating in 2014: Former La Natividad player Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade plays together with Diego Cavanagh (+8), Tomás García del Rio (+7) and Ezequiel Martinez Ferrario (+7). The newly founded team will have the tentative name Sao José. In 2010 the team had already succeeded in the Qualifiers and played the Hurlingham Open and the Argentine Open. Back then the team consisted of Rodrigo Ribeiro de Andrade, Nicolás Pieres and Jaime García Huidobro.

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to