This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Team Rodd & Gunn won a narrow victory

By 11-10 Will Brasher (+1), Glenn Sherriff (+4), Ross Ainsley (+5) and Sam Hopkinson (+6) of team Rodd & Gunn won against Michael Weston (0), Will Hunt (+3), Tom Hunt (+5) and John Paul Clarkin (+8) of team Tiger Building Contractors Ltd in the final. Shortly before end it was really exciting once more when John Paul Clarkin had the chance for a clearing through a penalty. That would had mean overtime and the match have been open again. But the +8-goaler misplayed and so the victory of the BMW NZ Polo Open 2014 went to team Rodd & Gunn.

Third place went to team BMW with Michael MacPherson (+1), Pedro Harrison (+5), Tom Morley (+6) and Cody Forsyth (+4). The foursome defeated in the small final team Mobilis by 10-8.

On the final day, a total of 7,000 visitors came to the Auckland Polo Club at Clevedon and enjoyed next to exciting high goal matches also the extensive program. These included a race of a polo pony against the new BMW M5 and a fashion show with the latest collections from Ted Baker and Natalie Chan.

Event director Amy Calway: “As always, it was a very tough week of competition that really showcased the talent of both the ponies and incredible horsemanship that is required to compete at this international standard. It was without a doubt the most fabulous mix of high-goal dramatic polo, stunning fashion and excellent entertainment that makes this event really stand out on Auckland’s summer calendar.”

The BMW NZ Polo Open is the most important polo event in New Zealand and took place for the 37th time this year. Collectively there are matches in four leagues. At the major league, 16 teams with team handicaps of +16 competed.

The teams of division +16:
Rodd & Gunn (+16)
Ross George / Will Brasher (+1)
Ross Ainsley (+5)
Sam Hopkinson (+6)
Glenn Sherriff (+4)

Tiger Building Conatractors Ltd (+16)
Michael Weston (0)
Will Hunt (+3)
Tom Hunt (+5)
John Paul Clarkin (+8)

BMW (+16)
Michael MacPherson (+1)
Cody Forsyth (+4)
Pedro Harrison (+5)
Tom Morley (+6)

Mobilis (+16)
Arthur Morgenstern (+1)
Paco O’Dwyer (+5)
Simon Keyte (+6)
Jimmy Wood (+4)

Veuve Clicquot (+16)
Steve van den Brink (+1)
Kit Brooks (+5)
Ruki Baillieu (+7)
Charlie Wood (+3)

Southfield (+16)
Dominic McKenzie (+1)
Jasper White (+3)
Henry Fisher (+5)
Tommy Wilson (+7)

[nggallery id=294]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to