This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

20 years of Snow Polo

Over the course of four days, the BMW Polo Masters Megève, the third snow polo event at a world international level, celebrated its 20th anniversary. Matthieu Delfosse (+4) has participated in all editions and entered the finals every other year, and now for the eighth time he has brought his team to victory. At his side, Captain Laurent Dassault (0) wins a fifth victory for his 18th participation.

Six international teams representing five nationalities (French, Swiss, English, Irish and Australian) were present to celebrate this anniversary with the French team’s youth players who were in training for the Snow Polo World Cup in Tianjin (China) next week. After three days of exciting polo matches the points accumulated by each team (one win carries 2 points) enabled the teams to access their places in the finals.

Team BMW, consisting of Gérard Bonvicini (0), Dario Musso (+7) and Alexandre Sztarkman (+1), won in the match for the fifth place and claimed the Axa Enterprises Cup against team Casino Barrière / Palo Alto, including Alexandre Baillot (0), Clément Delfosse (+4) and Thibault Guillemain (+3), by a final score of 7-5. In the match for third place, team Fermes de Marie, consisting of Cyrille Costes (0), Brieuc Rigaux (+5) and Thierry Vetois (+3), won the Lucien Barrière Cup with a final score of 6-4 against the British team Groupe Edmond de Rothschild, including Richard Thomas (0), Seb Dawnay (+4) and Michael Henderson (+4).

Finally everyone gathered next to the pitch for the final match. Team Fer a Cheval, consisting of Laurent Dassault (0), Matthieu Delfosse (+4) and Patrick Paillol (+4), defeated team Stalis, including Claude Solarz (0), Edouard Pan (+4) and Robert Strom (+4), by 7-4. The Edmond de Rothschild Group’s Trophy, the famous Megève marble snowball was awarded to their captain, Laurent Dassault, by Catherine Jullien-Breche Mayor of Megève, Mr Bertrand Otto of the Edmond de Rothschild bank and the sculptor Pierre Margara.

1st Team Fer a Cheval (+8)

Laurent Dassault (0)
Matthieu Delfosse (+4)
Patrick Paillol (+4)

2nd Team Stalis (+8)
Claude Solarz (0)
Edouard Pan (+4)
Robert Strom (+4)

3rd Team Les Fermes de Marie (+8)
Cyrille Costes (0)
Brieuc Rigaux (+5)
Thierry Vetois (+3)

4th Team Groupe Edmond de Rothschild (+8)
Richard Thomas (0)
Seb Dawnay (+4)
Michael Henderson (+4)

5th Team BMW (+8)
Alexandre Sztarkman (+1)
Dario Musso (+7)
Bonvicini Gérard (0)

6th Team Casino Barriere / Palo Alto (+7)
Alexandre Baillot (0)
Clément Delfosse (+4)
Thibault Guillemain (+3)

[nggallery id=534]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to