This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Team Veuve Clicquot wins

It was a day of sunshine and champagne for the sport of kings as Veuve Clicquot topped Bayleys in the final of the BMW NZ Polo Open. Veuve Clicquot bolted into the lead with four goals to lead by three after the first chukka. However Bayleys responded in the second chukka by levelling the field to four all. Veuve Clicquot then pulled away again to win 12 – eight at the final bell.
Auckland Polo Club President Tony van den Brink said Veuve Clicquot’s South African eight-goal player Nachi du Plessis out-classed everyone in the final with his superior skills. “It was clear from the beginning that Nachi was going to dominate, and so he did, scoring the majority of Veuve Clicquot’s goals,” said van den Brink.
Van den Brink said although the Bayleys team played very well and it was a great competition, Veuve Clicquot was resoundingly better. “The Bayleys team combined together well, and they played above their skins, beating favourites BMW in the semi-finals, but they didn’t have what it took to take out Veuve Clicquot,” he said.
Overall the day was a sporting and social success, with a record crowd of 7.000 attending the final. New attractions including a fashion lawn and public after-party likewise were very well attended. The Polo ‘Fashion in the Field’ competition attracted a stunning line-up of finalists, with Clifton Piper taking out the best dressed overall, winning an afternoon on Sir Owen Glenn’s super yacht, $3000 worth of Paspaley pearls and the use of a BMW car for a weekend.
The BMW New Zealand Polo Open is New Zealand’s premiere polo event and highlight of the polo season. 2013 marked the 36th year of the event that sets the benchmark for polo and fashion in Australasia and features some of the country’s best polo players.

The Teams:
Veuve Clicquot (+18)
James Worker (+2)
Glenn Sherriff (+4)
Ignatius du Plessis (+8)
Kit Brooks (+4)
Bayleys (+18)
Matt Bayley (+2)
Craig Wilson (+6)
Tommy Wilson (+7)
Pedro Harrison (+3)
BMW (+18)
Tany Lavas (0)
Tom Hunt (+5)
John Paul Clarkin (+8)
Jack Richardson (+5)
Howard Scott and Partners (+18)
John Martin (+4)
Henry Fisher (+5)
Ed Hitchman (+5)
Paco O’Dwyer (+4)
Rodd & Gunn (+18)
Ross George (+1)
Ross Ainsley (+5)
Tom Morley (+6)
Sam Hopkinson (+6)
Mobilis (+18)
Angus McKelvie (+5)
Andrew Parrott (+5)
Robert Watson (+5)
Glen Armstrong (+3)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to