This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Bulgari Gold Cup: Valiente champion at Sotogrande

Valiente has finally taken home the most coveted cup at Santa María Polo Club, the Copa de Oro Bulgari of the 43º Torneo Internacional Land Rover de Polo.

The team of the American patron Bob Jornayvaz, Santiago Torres, Santiago Laborde and Adolfo Cambiaso, defeated Ellerston by 14-11 in a great and crowded final match.

Valiente team in its first season in Sotogrande, enters the Santa María Polo Club having won the Triple Crown at the Tournament: the Copa de Bronce Isolas, the Copa de Plata Silex and the Copa de Oro Bulgari.

Ellerston fought hard against Valiente, and until the sixth chukker, it was impossible to predict who would win. Both teams played one of the most even final matches Sotogrande has seen. Six high speed chukkers, a spectacular polo level, and great emotions. Valiente and Ellerston exchanged goals throughout the whole match and only the unbeatable talent of Adolfo Cambiaso allowed that in the sixth chukker, Valiente emerged winner.

After the grand final, the traditional award ceremony took place, where Best Playing Pony went to One Magnífica of Facundo Pieres, and the MVP prize, that from this season on will have the name “Memorial Javier Novillo Astrada”, was Adolfo Cambiaso.

The winner of the Memorial Pedro Domecq de la Riva, was Lechuza Caracas, team that also today defeated Halcyon Gallery by 10-8. The final prize, the Copa de Oro Bulgari, was awarded of course to Valiente, and the team celebrated with all their children and friends on the podium.

High Goal Teams:
RH (+22)

Ben Soleimani (0)
Nicolás Pieres (+9)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Santiago Von Wernich (+5)

Ellerston (+22)
Thomas Brodie (+1)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Facundo Pieres (+10)
James Packer (+1)

Ayala Polo Team(+22)
Iñigo Zobel (+1)
Diego Cavanaugh (+7)
David Stirling (+10)
Iñigo Zobel (+1)

HB Polo (+21)
Ludovic Pailloncy (+1)
Ignacio Toccalino (+8)
Juan Ignacio “Pite” Merlos (+9)
Sebastien Pailloncy (+3)

Las Monjitas (+22)
Camilo Bautista (0)
Tomás Fernández-Llorente (+5)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (+9)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (+8)

Lechuza Caracas (+22)
Víctor Vargas (+1)
Francisco Elizalde (+7)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)
Matt Perry (+4)

Valiente (+22)
Robert Jornayvaz (+1)
Santiago Laborde (+5)
Adolfo Cambiaso (+10)
Santiago Torres (+6)

Dos Lunas Banco Espirito Santo (+22)
Luis Domecq (+3)
Pascual Sainz de Vicuña (+6)
Agustín García Grossi (+7)
Martín Iturraspe (+6)

Halcyon Gallery (+22)
Charles Hanbury (+4)
Juan Chavanne (+5)
Guillermo Terrera (+8)
Max Routledge (+5)

Royal Salute Scotch Whisky (+22)
Corine Ricard / Roger Carlson (0)
Lucas James (+8)
Jaime García Huidobro (+8)
Malcolm Borwick (+6)

La Indiana (+22)
Michael Bickford (+1)
Marcos Araya (+6)
John Paul Clarkin (+8)
Jack Baillieu (+7)

King Power (+22)
Top Srivaddhannaprabha (0)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)
Marcos Dipaola (+8)
Martini Espain (+6)

[nggallery id=430]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to