This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Desert Palm wins 10th anniversary match

Under the patronage and in the presence of HRH Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein, wife of HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, the prestigious Cartier International Dubai Polo Challenge 2015 came to an end as Desert Palm featuring Rashid Albwardy and Alan Meeker, took the final win. They defeated the UAE Polo Team 10-4.

In the Royal Box alongside HRH Princess Haya were Laurent Gaborit, Managing Director of Cartier Middle East and India, Ali Albwardy, Owner of Desert Palm, Neil Hobday, Chief Executive Guards Polo Club and American socialite, Olivia Palermo.

After four fast-paced chukkas, HRH Princess Haya presented the impressive Cartier trophy to the winning team. HRH Princess Haya, accompanied by the Marquess of Blandford, then awarded Amr Zedan of the Guards team with the La Martina Most Valuable Player of the Tournament Award. The La Martina Best Playing Pony Rug was won by Ali Albwardy’s Castora, who was played by Desert Palm’s Diego Cavanagh.

For the first time, six 12-goal teams took part in the prestigious Cartier competition, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2015. Cartier’s illustrious guests, which also included the Guards Team co-patron HRH Prince Abbas bin Ali bin Nayef of Jordan, who was accompanied by his wife, HRH Princess Sima Al Abbas, and HRH Princess Yasmine Bint Asem bin Nayef, were treated to an excellent display of exciting polo in amazing surroundings. Unfortunately, the morning’s sandstorm had forced the cancellation of the subsidiary Desert Palm Trophy on pony welfare grounds and so Cartier Red and Abu Dhabi agreed to tie for third place.

VIPs and guests also had an invitation to view Cartier’s latest collection, Clé de Cartier, in the beautifully styled Villa Layali. With Cartier’s exquisite touch and sumptuous hospitality, the Cartier International Dubai Polo Challenge is already regarded as the most celebrated tournament of the year. This 10th anniversary event was no exception – in fact if improvement on perfection is possible, Cartier achieved it at Desert Palm.

1. Desert Palm (+12)

Alan Meeker (0)
Rashid Albwardy (+2)
Tom Brodie (+2)
Diego Cavanagh (+8)

2. UAE Polo Team (+12)
Sandra Schneider (-1)
HH Sheikha Maitha Al Maktoum (0)
Santiago Stirling (+4)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)

3. Cartier Red (+10)
Clive Reid (0)
Martin Valent (+2)
Tariq Albwardy (+1)
Matias Zavaleta (+7)

3. Abu Dhabi (+12)
Faris Al Yabhouni (0)
Nasser Al Shamsi (+1)
Ernesto Oscar Trotz (+4)
Alfredo Cappella (+7)

Cartier White (+12)
Rashid Al Habtoor (0)
Khalaf Al Habtoor (-1)
Joaquin Pittaluga (+7)
Nacho Gonzalez (+6)

Guards (+12)
HRH Prince Abbas Bin Ali Bin Nayef (0)
Amr Zedan (0)
Pablo Casero (+2)
Pablo MacDonough (+10)

[nggallery id=548]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to