This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Team Ghantoot Polo wins McLaren Silver Cup

Abdullah bin Dismal (0), Juan Zubiaurre (+4), Facundo Sola (+8) and Pelayo Berazadi (+4) of team Ghantoot Polo are the winners of the McLaren Silver Cup 2014. In a hard-fought final at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club, the foursome defeated team Desert Palm by 9-8 and thus secured the place on the top of the winner’s podium.

In the very first minutes of the match Ghantoot took the lead, but by the end of the second chukka team Desert Palm had caught up and the scoreboard showed a tie with 4-4. In the third chukka Ghantoot took back the control of the match again and led by 7-4 – especially Facundo Sola inspired with his great performance. Desert Palm was not intimidated by the margin and did their best to make up leeway. They succeeded in this, but in the end there was not enough time and Desert Palm had to admit defeat against team Ghantoot by 8-9.

The 8-goaler Facundo Sola had a large share in the victory of his team Ghantoot and was rightly awarded as Most Valuable Player of the final and the entire tournament.

Brothers duel for the Hildon Cup
In the battle for the Hildon Cup, the brothers Mohammed Al Habtoor (0) and Rashid Al Habtoor (0) faced each other with their teams Habtoor and Mahra. After the third chukka Habtoor Polo led by 5-2. Mahra recovered again and fought its way, but in the end they failed in taking the lead and Habtoor Polo emerged victorious by 6-5.

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is one of the most prestigious polo events in the region. In its fifth year, the event is a regular feature of the international polo calendar. From February 1st to 15th, a total of ten 16-goal teams fought for the McLaren Silver Cup at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club. The Bentley Emirates Dubai Polo Gold Cup will be held from February 24th to March 14th. The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open) is part of the World Polo Tour (WPT).

The teams:
UAE Polo Team (+16)
HH Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum (0)
Ollie Cudmore (+5)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)
Tomás Gagliardi (+2)

Ghantoot (+16)
Abdullah bin Dismal (0)
Juan Zubiaurre (+4)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Pelayo Berazadi (+4)

Mahra Polo (+16)
Rashid Al Habtoor (0)
Guy Gibrat (+4)
Santiago Cernadas (+6)
Ignacio González (+6)

Habtoor Polo (+16)
Mohammed Al Habtoor (0)
Francisco Elizalde (+7)
Guillermo Cuitino (+6)
Marcos Panelo (+3)

Abu Dhabi (+16)
Faris Al Yabhouni (0)
Juan José Storni (+5)
Alfredo Capella (+8)
Victorio Monteverde (+3)

Bin Drai Polo (+16)
Saeed Bin Drai (0)
Tomás Iriarte (+4)
Manuel Fernández Llorente (+6)
Raúl Laplacette (+6)

Zedan Polo (+16)
Amr Zedan (0)
Facundo Fernández Llorente (+4)
David Stirling (+10)
Luis Gagliardi (+2)

Desert Palm 1 (+16)
Rashid Al Bawardi (+2)
Martin Valent (+5)
Facundo Castagnola (+6)
Ali Paterson (+3)

Desert Palm 2 (+16)
Tarik Al Bawardi (+1)
Santiago Laborde (+5)
Alejo Taranco (+6)
Matías Machado (+4)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to