This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Dh1.5 million cash prizes!

From 20th March to 3rd April 2015 the 14th Emirates Open Polo Championship will be held at the Ghantoot Horse Racing & Polo Club in Abu Dhabi (UAE). The event will be held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Falah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairman of Ghantoot Horse Racing & Polo Club, and will be supported by the Abu Dhabi Sports Council (ADSC).

Eight teams with handicaps of 18 goals will participate in the tournament, divided into two zones, including polo stars such as Pablo Mac Donough (+10) and Lucas Monteverde (+9). This was announced during a press conference which was held yesterday at the Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi Hotel in the presence of H.E. Saeed Bin Houfan Al Mansouri, Vice-Chairman and Mr. Ahmed Al Nuaimi, the Managing Director of Ghantoot Racing & Polo Club; alongside Mr. Fadel Al Mansouri, representative of the Abu Dhabi Sports Council; Yousif Bin Dasmal, Captain of the Ghantoot Polo team and representative of Al-Futtaim Motors (promoting Lexus as the official car of the tournament); Rami Flefel, representative of Dusit Thani group and representatives of the participating teams.

Al Mansouri started the conference with greetings and kind regards sent across by His Highness Sheikh Falah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairman of Ghantoot Racing & Polo Club, who wished the season-end games in Ghantoot a successful tournament and the participating teams all the best of luck. H.E added that the UAE is witnessing the greatest period in polo calling it “fabulous days” especially with the participation regionally and internationally at an advanced level. Furthermore, he mentioned that the tournament will issue Dh1.5 million (about 387.000 Euro) cash prizes to the top teams: “The participation of the regions eight top teams in the tournament confirms the its outstanding reputation in addition to the depth of interest in sponsoring the games by national institutions and companies. We’re honored to express gratitude to the Abu Dhabi Sports Council, chaired by H.H Sheikh Nahyan bin Zayed Al Nahyan for the support, attention and care we received; they take part in promoting sectors that aim at youth and sports development in the UAE, which was reflected on the great achievements recorded by the UAE athletes in various international and official events,” Al Mansouri said.

He acknowledged all efforts made by partners during the current sports season, especially those who’ve sponsored this upcoming tournament, namely Al Basti Equiworld,, and Al-Futtaim Motors, Yas Channel as media sponsors, Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi Hotel and Ghars Zayed Voluntary Group. Al Mansouri thanked all those who have been contributing to the successes of the club since its establishment and various media agencies.

Saud Abbasi, Managing Director of Lexus at Al-Futtaim Motors, said: “Lexus believes in luxury that delivers on precision craftsmanship, superior quality and personalised attentive care, attributes which are highly valued by players and fans of this fine sport. This year marks the 60th anniversary of Al-Futtaim Motors and throughout the past 60 years, the company has moved the nation and touched the lives of millions of people. Together with our partners we look forward to many more successes in the next 60 years and beyond.”

The teams:
Zone A
Zedan (+18)

Amer Zedan (0)
Martin Gandara (+4)
Facundo F. Llorente (+4)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)

Desert Palm (+18)
Rashid Albawardi (+2)
Facundo Castagnola (+6)
Santiago Laborde (+6)
Martin Valent (+4)

UAE (+18)
HH Shaika Maitha (0)
Pelayo Berazadi (+4)
Ignacio Acuna (+5)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)

Edrees (+18)
Sultan Edrees (0)
Pablo Llorente (+6)
Juan R. Guinazu (+7)
Pierre H. Ngoumou (+5)

Zone B
Ghantoot (+18)

Yousaf Bin Desmal (0)
Felipe Llorente (+3)
Juan Zavaleta (+7)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)

Habtoor (+18)
Habtoor Al Habtoor (+1)
Guy Gibrat (+5)
Santiago Cernadas (+6)
Guillermo Cuitino (+6)

Abu Dhabi (+17)
Faris Al Yabouni (0)
Felipe Ferrario (+4)
Hugo Barabucci (+6)
Alfredo Capella (+7)

Bin Drai (+18)
Saeed Bin Drai (0)
Agustin Canale (+6)
Manuel F. Llorente (+6)
Raul Laplacette (+6)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to