This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

England is European Champion 2014

In the group matches the Irishmen already had been able to prove that that they could defeat the English team. But in yesterday’s final the foursome was not as successful as before. Ireland partly dominated the match, but in the end England played stronger and Max Dear (0), Olly Tuthill (+4), Jack Mesquita (+1) and Freddy Dear (+3) won the European Polo Championship by 6-3. This meant second place for the Irish team, which had to get along with several changeovers in their team during the last matches.

France is winner of the bronze medal. In the subsidiary final, Julien Reynes (+2), Florent Garaud (+2), Corentin Lepape (+2) and Adrien Le Gallo (+2) won against Italy by 6-4.

On Saturday, the German national team sponsored by POLO+10 defeated a strong team from the Netherlands successfully by 6-3. Moritz Gädecke: “We were able to implement everything in our match against the Netherlands that we had tried to implement when playing against Spain. We played good as a team and also had advantage over the Dutchmen regarding our horses. The Dutchmen’s horses were not as good as our horses and so they were stretched to their limits. We played a great match, but it was because of our horses that we won by this large margin.”

The success against the Netherlands means for Moritz Gädeke (+3), Sven Schneider (+3), Caesar Crasemann (+1) and Peter Kienast (+1) that they finish the tournament on a victory and that they have made seventh place. Moritz Gädeke draws a positive conclusion: “We have shown that we are a strong team. A lot of people did not expect that from the German team beforehand. Especially due to the fact that Christopher Kirsch could not participate because of his hand injury and that I had to step in for him at short notice. All things considered we were quite able to keep up with the other teams. This was also appreciated by the other teams, which congratulated us on our performance. All teams were lying very close to each other, especially the places three to eight could indeed have been allocated differently.”

By now the foursome is back in Germany and on their way home, respectively.

German national polo team sponsored by POLO+10
The German national polo team sponsored by POLO+10: Caesar Crasemann (+1), Peter Kienast (+1), Moritz Gädeke (+3) and Sven Schneider (+3). (© Antoine Delaporte)

1. England (+8)

Max Dear (0)
Olly Tuthill (+4)
Jack Mesquita (+1)
Freddy Dear (+3)

2. Ireland (+8)
Richard Fagan (+1)
Sebastian Dawnay (+4)
Max Hutchinson (+2)
Stephen Hutchinson (+1)

3. France (+8)
Julien Reynes (+2)
Florent Garaud (+2)
Corentin Lepape (+2)
Adrien Le Gallo (+2)

4. Italy (+8)
Edoardo Ferrari (+2)
Giacomo Galantino (+1)
Matias Bertola (+1)
Julio Coria (+4)

5. Spain (+8)
Mario Gomez Duran (+4)
Nicolas Alvarez Cervera (+3)
Yago Espinosa De Los Monteros (+2)
Luis Aznar Oriol (0)

6. Austria (+8)
Walter Scherb (+1)
Martin Bleier (+2)
Diego Braun (+4)
Robert Kofler (+1)

7. Germany (+8)
Moritz Gädeke (+3)
Sven Schneider (+3)
Caesar Crasemann (+1)
Peter Kienast (+1)

8. Netherlands (+8)
Jim Souren (+1)
Pablo Van Den Brink (+2)
Alexander Van Andel (+2)
Nick Grooss (+3)

[nggallery id=454]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)


Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to