This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

The finalists are set

The second finalist of the 2013 Jockey Club Open is fixed. After Alberto Heguy (+7), Francisco Elizalde (+7), Bautista Heguy (+8) and Eduardo Heguy (+8) of team Chapaleufú already qualified for the final, Diego Cavanagh (+7), Guillermo Terrera (+7), Ignatius Du Plessis (+7) and Tomás García del Rio (+8) of team La California claimed the second spot in the final by defeating Facundo Sola (+8), Pablo Mac Donough (+10), Milo Fernández Araujo (+8) and Juan Martín Nero (+10) of team Casablanca in the second semi-final.
The second one of the semi-final matches went down to the wire. The opening chukker ended with a 2-2 draw. But Casablanca took the control of the game and at the beginning of the fifth chukker they led by 7-4. But the match took an unexpected turn: La California counter-attacked and scored four consecutive goals, while Casablanca remained scoreless. Guillermo Terrera scored the winning goal in the last minute of the play and by this carried his team to the final of this year’s Jockey Club Open. La California left the field as the winning team with 8-7 on the scoreboard.
La California and Chapaleufú will encounter each other in the final on Saturday at 3 pm. The Jockey Club Open are a foretaste of the Argentine Triple Crown, which starts with the Tortugas Open on September 24th. Six of the seven teams who participate in the Jockey Club Open participate in the Qualifying Tournament “90 Aniversario de la AAP” from September 26th to October 7th to get hold of one of the remaining spots in the Hurlingham Open and the Argentine Open. Solely team Casablanca forms an exception: Pablo Mac Donough (+10) and Juan Martín Nero (+10) saddle for La Dolfina and have already qualified for both tournaments, as well as Facundo Sola (+8) who plays for La Aguada.

The teams:
Casablanca (+36)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Milo Fernández Araujo (+8)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)
Magual (+32)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)
Ignacio Toccalino (+8)
Marcos Di Paola (+8)
Jaime García Huidobro (+8)
Chapaleufú (+30)
Alberto Heguy (+7)
Francisco Elizalde (+7)
Bautista Heguy (+8)
Eduardo Heguy (+8)
Cuatro Vientos (+29)
Juan M. Zavaleta (+7)
Juan Agustín García Grossi (+8)
Alejandro Agote (+8)
Santiago Tanoira (+6)
La California (+29)
Diego Cavanagh (+7)
Guillermo Terrera (+7)
Ignatius Du Plessis (+7)
Tomás García del Rio (+8)
Las Overas (+28)
Salvador Ulloa (+7)
Valerio Zubiaurre (+7)
Guillermo Willington (+7)
Alfredo Capella (+7)
La Vanguardia (+28)
Gonzalo Deltour (+7)
Ezequiel Martínez Ferrario (+7)
Ignacio Laprida (+7)
Santiago Toccalino (+7)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)


Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to