This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Just amazing

At the British Polo Day at castle Wallerstein, princess Anna and prince Carl-Eugen zu Oettingen-Wallerstein literally left their guests speechless. “Just amazing” – was the expression that was heard for two days from the about 70 international (mostly English) guests. “Just amazing” was the theme of the exclusive polo gathering at castle Wallerstein, which should be unforgettable to the great hosts friends, who came from all over the world.
On Saturday team Wallerstein won the fight for the Hackett Trophy against the foursome of British Exiles in a fast and energetic match by 7-5. Yoanna Otto (-1), Prince Carl-Eugen zu Oettingen-Wallerstein (0), Sven Schneider (+3) and the Argentinean Wallerstein-Coach Agustin Krohnhaus (+3) scored. The newly married Tristan “Philli” Phillimore, who hurt his chin and lost two teeth the previous weekend at the British Polo Day in England, nevertheless participated in the tournament and scored. He was named “Most Valuable Player” of the tournament.
In the match before that another team from Wallerstein won. Team Girls Only with Clare Milford-Haven (0), Anna Oettingen-Wallerstein (-1), Christina Thomé (0) and Izzy Parsons (+2) gained a tight victory against team GAM with the Mexican brother and sister Juan José „JJ“ (+2) and Imalda de Alba (0), who are the host of the British Polo Day in Mexico, as well as Nicky Sen (-1) and Christopher Thomé (+1) by 3,5-3.
Next to the polo matches the guests experienced an exciting programme that could not have been more diversified. A hearty Bavarian brunch in the forest with Land Rover, sponsor of the BPD, was followed by the Offroad Experience Land Rover Challenge. Highlight of the British Polo Day was the elegant Black Tie Dinner at castle Baldern in the evening with landlord Carl-Eugen zu Oettingen-Wallerstein, who welcomed his guests to a four-course meal at an endless table in the ballroom.
Tom Hudson, who founded the British Polo Day together with Edward Olver in 2010 and by this time realises ten BPDs per year all over the world, is deeply impressed: “We have experienced here a memorable time and are charmed by the fantastic hosts, the relaxed and cordial atmosphere, the great polo and a setting, that has no equal – this was just amazing.”

The teams:
The Land Rover Trophy
Girls Only (+1)
Clare Milford-Haven (0)
Anna zu Oettingen-Wallerstein (-1)
Christine Thomé (0)
Izzy Parsons (+2)
Wallerstein Polo / GAM (+2)
Nicky Sen (-1)
Imelda de Alba (0)
Christopher Thomé (+1)
JJ de Alba (+2)
Hackett Trophy
British Exiles / Hackett (+5)
George Fox (+1)
Tristan Phillimore (+1)
Viscount Dundas (+3)
Lord Wrottesley (0)
Wallerstein Polo II / InterContinental London Park Lane (+5)
Yoanna Otto (-1)
Agustin Kronhaus (+3)
Sven Schneider (+3)
Carl-Eugen Oettingen-Wallerstein (0)

[nggallery id=197]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to