This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Polo European Championship: Hall of Fame

In 1993 the first FIP Polo European Championship was held in St. Moritz. Since then the title bouts are held every two or three years. A total of 15 nationalities have participated until now: Belgium, Germany, England, France, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Spain and Hungary (in alphabetical order). Germany and Spain are the only two countries which participated in all ten European Championships. England, France and Italy competed nine times in the tournament. By attending the Championship eight times the Netherlands also is a routinier. Others – such as Finland, Slovakia or Hungary, which only participated once – do not have so much experience. For Poland this year’s Championship in Berlin is the first in the history of the sport of polo in Poland.

With a total of six titles as well as a second and a third place England is the most successful country in the history of the European Championship by far. The second most successful is France by boasting two victories and two third places. One gold medal and two silver medals means that Italy is placed third. The ranking looks slightly different if you also have a look at the relation of attendances to number of successes (place 1-3). England participated nine times and of these was ranked eight times among the top three – this means a success rate of 88.9 %. Ireland also was successful at the most European Championships it participated in. The national team from the Emerald Isle has attended the Championship five times and made it to the winner’s podium three times – this adds up to a success rate of 60 % and thus means second place. France was among the top three for four times out of nine attendances – the success rate thus is 44.4 % and the country is placed third.

The organiser of the Polo European Championship is the Federation of International Polo (FIP). The hosts so far: Switzerland (St. Moritz), Belgium (Antwerp), Italy (Milan and Rome), France (two times at the Polo Club de Chantilly), the Netherlands (Vreeland), Germany (Hamburg), Austria (Ebreichsdorf) and Spain (Sotogrande). Next to Italy and France, Germany is the third country to host the European Championship for the second time.

Whereas the first Championship included six teams, now the number of participants mostly is eight to nine. The European Championship at Poloclub Schloss Ebreichsdorf (Austria) in 2010 was the biggest-ever Championship, boasting ten teams.

Polo European Championships: Hall of Fame
For a larger view, click on the image. (© POLO+10)
Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to