This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Undefeated Champions

Harald Link (0), Caroline Link (0), Pedro Fernandez Llorente (+5) and Agustin Garcia Grossi (+7) of home team Thai Polo are the winners of the 12th BMW-B.Grimm Thai Polo Open. The team of the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club went through the tournament undefeated and was also successful in the final match. In the final on Saturday, 17th January, the foursome won against Windson Rao (0), Tommy Martinez (+3), Damian Marco (+2) and Pablo Jauretche (+7) of team Fast Fish by 8-5.

Dato Mohamed Moiz (+1), H.H. Prince Ameer (+2), Shaik Reismann (+3) and Gines Bargallo (+6) of team „The 300“ were placed third, they won by a narrow margin, 8-7, against Claude Haberer / Edward Batchelor (0), Pierre Jauretche (+3), Adrien Le Gallo (+3) and Nicolas Pieroni (+4) of team BMW.

Princess Sirivannavari Nariratana presented the prizes to the various competitors, and also gave a bouquet of flowers to winning patron Harald Link in honour of his 60th birthday.

In addition to the exciting polo matches, watched by the enthusiastic audience with great interest, the event organisers presented an extensive social programme to the guests on Saturday. Prior to the finals taking place, an exciting showjumping competition worth 100,000 baht in prize money was held, featuring some of the most talented show jumpers of all ages in Thailand. Helena Gabrielson took out first place ahead of Areenatha Chavatanont, with Montakant Nuanmanee in third place. There were also some novelty events with children on horseback as well as a fashion show and a children’s polo match.

The entertaining day concluded with a fireworks display and then a cocktail party. Prior to the party getting underway, the inaugural Southeast Asian Polo Awards took place, with the winners of the three competitions held during 2014 by the Royal Malaysian Polo Association (RMPA) being honoured. The International Award was won by Thai Polo, the National League Award went to the Windhorse team, while the Merdeka League Award was bestowed on the La Sarita team.

The Thai Polo Open took place this year for the twelfth time and has become one of the most sought-after events in the region. As in past years, the event raised funds for HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn’s Chitralada Vocational School, which helps disadvantaged people to get access to education.

1. Thai Polo (+12)

Harald Link (0)
Caroline Link (0)
Pedro Fernandez Llorente (+5)
Agustin Garcia Grossi (+7)

2. Fast Fish (+12)
Windson Rao (0)
Tommy Martinez (+3)
Damian Marco (+2)
Pablo Jauretche (+7)

3. The 300 (+12)
Dato Mohamed Moiz (+1)
H.H. Prince Ameer (+2)
Shaik Reismann (+3)
Gines Bargallo (+6)

4. BMW (+10)
Claude Haberer / Edward Batchelor (0)
Pierre Jauretche (+3)
Adrien Le Gallo (+3)
Nicolas Pieroni (+4)

[nggallery id=528]

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to