This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

First Match Day at VR Sports Club in Bangkok

Yesterday the Thailand Polo King’s Cup started at the VR Sports Club in Bangkok. Six teams with handicaps of 15-18 goals will compete against each other until 24th January 2015. The 10 goalers Pablo McDonough and Gonzalo Pieres are also attending the tournament and will face each other today. Gonzalo Pieres is participating in the tournament in Thailand for the first time.

In yesterday’s inaugural match team King Power and team Tang Polo fought against each other. After the first chukkas King Power was in the lead, but in the final chukka Tang Polo took the lead, 8.5-8. But a penalty put King Power in the lead again and the foursome won by a narrow margin, 9-8.5. In the second match BP Healthcare faced Ahmibah Brunei. Ahmibah Brunei controlled the game from the opening chukka and gained victory by 9.5-6.

Until 24th January, each day will see two matches. The matches kick off at 4.00pm (local time). The final on Saturday will be held at 5.30pm. HRH King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand will be presenting the prize trophy.

Played as a biannual tournament, Thailand Polo King’s Cup is hosted by the Thailand Polo Association (TPA) and alternates every two years with the All Asia Cup. With team handicaps of 15-18 goals the 2015 Thailand Polo King’s Cup is the highest handicapped polo tournament ever played in Asia.

The event will be held at the VR Sports Club in Bangkok. The clubs is equipped with two pitches (VR Field and SPP Field) and is owned by Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha (also owner of King Power Duty Free and Leicester City Football Club).

The teams:
*Please note: The King’s Cup is a 15-18 goal tournament, King Power’s team was entered in December when Aiyawatt ‘Top’ Srivaddhanaprabha’s handicap was 0, subsequently, on the 1st January 2015 his handicap was raised to 1, so King Power will play as a 19 goal team. All handicaps will be introduced with goal advantage for less handicapped teams.

King Power (+19)
Apichet Srivaddhanaprabha (0)
Aiyawatt (Top) Srivaddhanaprabha (+1)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Marcos Di Paola (+8)

Tang Polo Club (+17)
Shilai Liu (+1)
Miguel Diaz (+5)
Temi Wellington (+7)
Antonino Menard (+4)

Brunei Polo Team (+18)
HRH Princess Azamah (0)
HH Prince Bahar (+1)
Pablo McDonough (+10)
Joaquim Pittaluga (+7)

BP Healthcare (+18)
James Beh (+1)
Joevy Beh (+4)
Garvy Beh (+4)
Nachi Heguy (+9)

Global Port (+17)
Michael Romero (0)
Benjamin Urquiza (+5)
Manuel Crespo (+7)
Anthony Garcia (+5)

Ahmibah Brunei (+15)
HH Prince Qawi (-1)
HRH Prince Jefri Bolkiah (0)
Francesco Bensadon (+8)
Ale Agote (+8)

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.

Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to