This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Villa del Lago take Iglehart

By Alex Webbe: The anticipated final of the 2013 Iglehart Cup fell apart when Crab Orchard withdrew from the competition, allowing the team they beat in the semifinals, Port Mayaca, to advance to the finals against Villa Del Lago in the morning contest.
Villa Del Lago had to spot the 19-goal Port Mayaca team one goal by handicap, but an aggressive Villa Del Lago offense took advantage of a number of first chukker fouls. Magoo Laprida converted on two of them for an early 2-1 lead. Marianito Obregon scored on a penalty shot for Port Mayaca, who trailed 2-1 after the opening period of play.
Two more goals in the second chukker for Villa Del Lago had Laprida converting a 40-yard penalty shot with Agustin Obregon adding a goal from the field. Port Mayaca got a single goal from Marianito Obregon but Villa Del Lago continued to hold the lead, 4-3.
Villa Del Lago stretched their led to two goals in the third with Laprida accounting for all three goals (two on penalty shots). Port Mayaca fired back with single goals from Marianito Obregon (penalty goal) and Stevie Orthwein. At the end of the first half Vila Del Lago was leading by two goals, 7-5.
The two teams played evenly in the fourth. Villa Del Lago added two more goals from Laprida (ne on a penalty conversion) and two penalty conversions from Carlucho Arellano. Villa Del Lago continued to hold a two goal lead, 9-7.
The pattern remained the same in the fifth chukker with Laprida adding two more goals (one on a penalty shot) and Port Mayaca answering with single goals from Marianito Obregon and Arellano (penalty goal). With one period remaining in regulation time Villa Del Lago continued to defend their two goal 11-9 lead.
Port Mayaca made a run for it in the final chukker. Single goals from Arellano and Marianito Obregon tied it up at 11-11. Guille Aguero scored the go-ahead goal for Villa Del Lago, 12-11 in the waning moments of the period, but an Arellano penalty conversion locked it up again at 12-12. Fittingly enough, Laprida’s eleventh goal of the match carried Villa Del Lago to the 13-12 victory in the final 20-goal tournament of the season, the Iglehart Cup.
Laprida registered eleven goals on the day, seven on penalty conversions, and received MVP honors. Teammates Aguero and Agustin Obregon added single goals for the win. Arellano and Marianito Obregon scored five times each for Port Mayaca. Stevie Orthwein added a goal in the loss.
Stevie Orthwein’s Hazard was named Best Playing Pony.

Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)



Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to