This Post is available in:

Dieser Post ist verfügbar in:

Brinks win New Zealand Polo Open

Team Brinks winner of the 47th NZ Polo Open: (left to right) Jimbo Fewster James Harper, Bud Sorby, Matt van den Brink. © Selena Wright

In one of the most exciting NZ Polo Open finals ever to be held at Auckland Polo Club, a spectacular crowd of over 4,000 cheered from the sidelines as the two best teams competed in an exhilarating match to win the coveted trophy.

The 47th NZ Polo Open (held Sunday 18th February) was a very close game between team Ecogas (Paco O’Dwyer, Glenn Sheriff, George Cronin, Bruce Fraser) and team Brinks (Matt van den Brink, James Harper, Bud Sorby, Jimbo Fewster) with Brinks taking the nation’s top polo title, 9 – 8.

With a field of polo players from all over the world, New Zealand, Australia, England, and Argentina the competition between the teams was fierce, with the score at end of the third Chukka 6 – 4 to Ecogas.

Champion pony went to Lola, owned by Ash Reader, ridden by James Harper.

Best retrained Thoroughbred (an award created in collaboration between NZ Polo Open and Love Racing) went to Shooter, owned by Thomas Hunt, ridden by Paco O’Dwyer.

Most valuable player of the match went to Bruce Fraser of Ecogas.

Paco O’Dwyer 7 – Argentina
Glenn Sheriff 5 – New Zealand
Bruce Fraser 2 – New Zealand
George Cronin 2 – New Zealand

Matt van den Brink 1 – New Zealand
Bud Sorby 3 – Australia
Jimbo Fewster 5 – United Kingdom
James Harper 7 – United Kingdom

Best retrained thoroughbred, Shooter. © Selena Wright
Related Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



For players only: The biggest players data base in the world. Subscribe now and receive invitations to polo tournaments all over the world.
Subscribe to POLO+10 Newsletter
Newsletter Subscriptions *(Required)


Would you like to have your own magazine for your tournament?

Feel free to contact us!
POLO+10 produces your tournament magazine.

Please write to